DMV Practice Test App Comparison 2026

Full disclosure first: we make one of the apps in this comparison. What follows is not a ranking dressed up as research. It is the data Apple publishes about each app, pulled on 9 September 2026, next to what each developer claims in its own store listing. The six apps below carry the largest US review counts in permit test prep, from 236,746 ratings down to our own 26. The comparison covers real in-app purchase prices, stated question counts, languages, download size and the minimum iOS version each one needs. It also covers the option none of these apps mention: the free official practice test your own state already publishes.
How we put this comparison together
Every number in the tables below came from two places. App metadata (rating, review count, languages, file size, minimum iOS, last update) came from Apple’s public lookup service for the US storefront. Prices came from the In-App Purchases block on each app’s own App Store product page, which Apple renders and keeps current. Nothing here is an affiliate placement. We run no affiliate links and take no commission on any app in the table, including ours.
Two limits are worth stating up front. Apple shows a maximum of ten in-app purchases per listing, so an app with a deeper price ladder may have tiers not shown. Question counts, meanwhile, are what each developer writes in its own marketing copy, not an audited figure. Nobody independently counts these banks, which is exactly why the number gets rounded upward across this category.
We know how soft that number can be because we have measured our own. When we re-verified every answer in our bank against official state sources, the audit produced 28 corrected answers, 7 questions filed under the wrong state, and 8 questions broken badly enough to delete outright. Our bank went down, from 3,960 to 3,952, and we still describe it as 4,000 questions in marketing copy because that is the honest rounding. An app that has never published a correction has either never audited its bank or never told you what the audit found.
The side-by-side comparison
All figures below are from the US App Store on 9 September 2026. Ratings move daily, prices change without notice, and the “states” column reports what the developer claims rather than what we counted.
| App | Developer | Rating (reviews) | Stated question bank | Cheapest paid unlock | Languages |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zutobi: Permit & Driving Prep | Zutobi AB | 4.73 (236,746) | “over 600 state-specific questions” | $4.99 | English, French, German, Swedish |
| DMV Genie: Permit Test 2026 | Elegant eLearning | 4.77 (183,460) | “500+ state-specific questions” | $9.99 (1 week) | English |
| DMV WRITTEN TEST | Infinity Loop Capital | 4.82 (135,024) | Not stated | No in-app purchases listed | English, Spanish |
| DMV Practice Test 2026 myDMV | KAIN SUITE | 4.62 (106,671) | Not stated, “all 53 states” | $3.99 (1 week, intro) | English, Spanish, Hindi, Chinese, Vietnamese |
| Aceable Drivers Ed & Test Prep | Aceable Inc. | 4.89 (105,247) | “unlimited” practice questions | $35.99 (state course) | English |
| DMV Ready: Practice Test 2026 | DMV Ready LLC | 5.0 (26) | 4,000 questions, 50 states plus DC | $14.99 one-time | English, Spanish |
Two rows are not really competing with the rest. Aceable sells state-approved driver education courses in Texas, Florida, California, Illinois, Ohio, Nevada, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania, and the permit practice sits inside that course. If your state requires a certified course, that price buys a legal requirement, not a quiz app. Separately, Zutobi, DMV Genie and myDMV also sell CDL and motorcycle material; our app covers passenger-vehicle permit tests only, which is the right comparison to make if a car permit is what you are studying for.
Pricing separates these apps more than features do
Read the price ladders side by side and a pattern appears that no feature list will show you. Below is every in-app purchase Apple lists for each app, as of 9 September 2026.
| App | In-app purchases Apple lists |
|---|---|
| DMV Genie | Car Premium 1 week $9.99; Car Premium 7-day access $15.99; Car Driving Test Premium (7d) $19.99; Car Driving Test Premium Weekly $29.99; Car Premium 30-day access $29.99; Car Driving Test Premium (30d) $39.99; Car Premium Lifetime $99.99; DMV Genie Premium $9.99 |
| myDMV | Weekly Full Access $3.99 intro, $7.99 and $9.99 standard; Monthly Full Access $19.99; Monthly Subscription $29.99; 6-month Full Access $29.99 |
| Zutobi | Zutobi PLUS $4.99, $5.99 and $7.99 tiers; single-state prep packs for California, New York, Texas, Florida, Georgia and Ohio at $4.99 each |
| Aceable | Florida TLSAE $35.99; Georgia drivers ed $49.99; Texas adult course $59.99; Nevada $59.99; California $69.99; Illinois adult $84.99; Ohio $89.99; Texas parent-taught $99.99; Texas instructor-taught $119.99; audio read-along $4.99 |
| DMV Ready | Monthly Premium $4.99; One-Time Full Access $14.99 |
Look at the unit, not the number. A $7.99 weekly subscription is $415 a year. A $29.99 weekly tier is $1,559 a year, and it costs three times per week what a permanent unlock costs at $9.99 in the same app’s own ladder. Weekly pricing works because a learner with a test booked for Thursday is not shopping on annual cost, and a subscription that renews on Sunday will keep renewing long after the license is in the wallet.
The common mistake: renting a test you take once
Picture a 16-year-old in Sacramento with a knowledge test booked in nine days. She downloads a free app, hits the paywall on the second practice test, and buys the option that looks smallest on the screen: $7.99 for a week. She passes on the first try. Nobody in that household opens the app again, and nobody cancels, because it never appears as a line item anyone recognizes. Twelve weeks later the permit prep has cost $95.88, which is more than six times the one-time unlock she scrolled past.
That is the whole trick of weekly pricing in test prep. It is not aimed at the studying. It is aimed at the deadline. The defense is simple: before you pay anything, find the one-time or lifetime tier in the list, compare it to four weeks of the weekly tier, and assume you will forget to cancel. If an app has no one-time option at all, that is a pricing decision worth knowing about before you enter a card, not after. Our own answer is the $14.99 One-Time Full Access tier sitting next to the $4.99 month, and we publish the comparison on our free versus premium breakdown rather than making you find it at a paywall.
What each developer claims about its question bank
Question counts in this category are marketing numbers, and they are not measured the same way twice. Zutobi’s listing says “over 600 state-specific questions.” DMV Genie’s says “500+ state-specific questions” covering all 50 states. myDMV claims coverage of “all 53 states,” which is a count no US licensing map produces. Ours is 4,000 questions across 50 states plus DC, split into roughly 2,000 that apply everywhere and roughly 1,900 written against a specific state’s rules.
The split matters more than the total. A universal question about following distance is worth the same in Ohio and Oregon. A question about how long you must hold a permit is worth nothing outside the state that wrote it, and that is where thin banks get exposed. Studying in a big state? Check that the questions actually change when you change the state setting. Our California permit test practice and Texas permit test practice pages exist because the two exams diverge on scoring and on question count, not just on trivia.
One structural detail is worth naming because it is easy to miss. DMV Genie’s App Store listing gives driving-tests.org as its developer website, and driving-tests.org publishes a page ranking the best DMV practice test app. The app it recommends is its own. That is not a criticism of the app, which holds 183,460 reviews at 4.77, but it does mean the roundup you land on from a search is a first-party page, and you should read it as one.
The free option no app roundup mentions
Most states publish official practice material, and several run their own free practice test. It costs nothing. It comes from the agency that writes the real exam. And it is missing from nearly every “best app” list because it pays no commission.
| State | What the agency publishes | Detail worth knowing |
|---|---|---|
| California | Sample Class C knowledge tests | Four full tests in each of ten languages, including Spanish, Chinese, Punjabi, Tagalog and American Sign Language |
| Wisconsin | Official online practice knowledge test | Rebuilt to show question types and how the DMV scores results |
| Pennsylvania | Test Your Knowledge page plus a state-published app | PA Driver’s Practice Test is published by the Commonwealth itself and is free |
| Nevada | Class C practice quiz | 25 questions, matching the real Nevada knowledge test length |
| Ohio | BMV sample test | Free, no account required |
| Colorado | Driver handbook practice quiz | Paired with the state’s at-home knowledge test program |
| Virginia | Online practice exam | Published alongside the manual in English and Spanish |
Start here before you pay anyone. The California DMV sample knowledge test library notes that it “periodically adds new questions to the sample tests,” so the free material is maintained rather than parked. Wisconsin’s DMV says its rebuilt tool “helps users better understand what’s being tested, become familiar with the various question types, and understand how DMV scores the results,” according to the Wisconsin DMV practice knowledge test page. Pennsylvania routes learners to its own material through the Test Your Knowledge page, and its practice app is published by the Commonwealth, not a vendor. Nevada’s Class C license quiz, the Ohio BMV sample test, Colorado’s at-home knowledge test resources and Virginia’s online practice exam all cost nothing.
Volume is the catch. A state that publishes 25 questions has given you one sitting, not a study plan, and it will not tell you which rules you keep missing. That gap is the honest case for a paid app, and it is a much smaller case than most roundups make. If you want to see where your weak areas are before deciding, our road signs practice test is a reasonable place to find out, since signs are the section learners fail most and the one where a single misread symbol such as the octagonal stop sign is worth an automatic miss.
Specs that decide it on a real phone
Two numbers in the App Store listings get ignored and should not be. First is the minimum iOS version, because a learner studying on a hand-me-down phone can be locked out before they start. Aceable requires iOS 18.0. DMV Genie and myDMV require 17.0, ours requires 17.6, DMV WRITTEN TEST runs on 16.6 and Zutobi goes back to 16.0. On an older iPhone that is the entire decision.
Second is download size, which matters on a phone that is always full. Aceable is 73.1 MB and DMV WRITTEN TEST is 81.8 MB. DMV Ready is 125.3 MB, myDMV is 164.2 MB, Zutobi is 213.8 MB and DMV Genie is 225.4 MB. Size is not quality. But an app that ships its content in the bundle is an app that keeps working when the connection does not. Ours runs fully offline with no backend and no networking, which is why questions and rule cards load in a parking garage or a rural county road with one bar. Check whether the app you pick states offline support; most listings in this category do not.
Languages, and who gets left out
Language coverage is the least discussed gap in permit test prep. It is also a large one. Zutobi ships English, French, German and Swedish, so a Spanish-speaking learner in the United States is not served. DMV Genie and Aceable are English only. myDMV is the broadest at five languages, DMV WRITTEN TEST adds Spanish, and our app runs fully in English and Mexican Spanish including the rule cards read aloud. Compare that against California, where the DMV publishes its own sample tests in ten languages. A household preparing in Spanish should check the app’s language list before paying, and can start from our guide to taking the permit test in Spanish.
How to choose in five minutes
Open your state DMV site and take the free official practice test first, because it is the only sample written by the people who write your exam. Passed it comfortably? Read the handbook once more and book the test. If you miss more than a few, you need volume and weak-area tracking, and that is what a paid app buys. At that point open the App Store listing, scroll to In-App Purchases, and find the one-time tier before you find the button. Compare it to four weeks of the weekly tier. Check the minimum iOS version against your phone and the language list against your household. Then check that the question bank changes when you set your state, which our guide to what the real DMV test questions look like explains in more detail, and confirm what the exam actually demands using our breakdown of the passing score in your state. Five minutes of that beats an hour of reading roundups, including this one. Want the reasoning behind each of those checks rather than the shortlist? We set it out in our guide to picking the best DMV permit test app.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best app for a DMV practice test?
There is no single answer, because the apps differ on price structure more than on content. By US review volume the largest are Zutobi at 236,746 ratings and DMV Genie at 183,460. By pricing, the ones with a one-time unlock cost far less than the weekly tiers if you study for more than a few weeks. Start with your state’s free official practice test, then pay only for the gap it leaves.
Which driving test app is the best for a first-time learner?
For a first permit, pick on three things: does the question bank change when you set your state, is there a one-time price instead of a weekly renewal, and does it run on the phone you own. Aceable is the exception to compare separately, since it sells state-approved driver education courses rather than quiz practice.
Is Zutobi actually good?
Zutobi holds a 4.73 rating across 236,746 US reviews, which is a large and consistent sample. Its listing claims over 600 state-specific questions and it sells single-state packs at $4.99 alongside its PLUS tiers. Its gap for US learners is language: it ships English, French, German and Swedish, with no Spanish option.
Is the PA Driver’s Practice Test app similar to the actual permit test?
It is published by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania itself rather than by a vendor, so it draws on the same official manual the real knowledge test is built from. Treat it as authoritative sample material rather than as the live exam, since no state releases its working question pool.
Are free DMV practice tests good enough on their own?
Sometimes. If your state publishes several full-length samples, as California does with four Class C tests per language, that may be all you need. If your state publishes a single 25-question quiz, you get one sitting and no record of which rules you keep missing, which is where a paid app earns its price.
Do these apps work offline?
Most listings in this category do not state offline support either way, so check before you rely on it. Our app ships its questions and rule cards in the app bundle and runs with no backend and no networking, which is why it keeps working with no signal.
Every figure on this page came from Apple’s public app data and from state DMV sites on 9 September 2026, and prices in this category change without notice, so re-check the In-App Purchases block before you buy anything. Take your state’s free practice test first. If it shows gaps, practice the weak areas until they stop being weak, whether that is in Wisconsin, Pennsylvania or anywhere else, and you can drill them in DMV Ready with a one-time unlock and no weekly renewal to cancel. More guides are collected on the DMV Ready blog.
